“A must-read novella for Halloween”: ‘Sharkways’ Reviewed…

Posted: October 23, 2012 in Other Writing by AJ Kirby, Sharkways by AJ Kirby

I’m delighted to be able to say that my novella, Sharkways, continues to garner excellent reviews, most recently on the Anna Stephens the Writer site here. This particular review is one of the most insightful reviews I’ve ever had, with some great critical analysis of plot, structure and character, as well as some brilliant and visceral descriptions of how exactly the book made her feel… And I can’t thank Anna enough for it, especially for her headline quote: ‘A must-read novella for Halloween.’

And you can get your hands on a copy in paperback, or Kindle version here.

There are many review highlights, and I’ve picked out just a few here, but remember to visit Anna’s website too, which is a great read, describing itself as “A record of the quest to become a published novelist – with a dusting of randomness for good measure.”

Sharkways coverSharkways Review Highlights

Kirby has written horror before, horror that has made me uneasy and twitchy. He’s never before made me nearly bite my own tongue off in broad daylight on a crowded bus. Sharkways did. Sharkways made me want to pull my legs up onto the chair in case insects crawled out from the gloom beneath my seat and up my legs. The middle part of Sharkways stopped me sleeping.”

“It’s one of those breathless reads that keeps you turning pages and forgetting what you were supposed to be doing.”

“Never has a ghost been more frightening…”

“I don’t want to give too much away as this is a must-read novella for Halloween and those long, dark nights of winter which are coming, but the final ending, after all this horror, was startling in its simplicity and utterly unexpected. For a moment I couldn’t believe Kirby actually had the audacity to do what he did, but in the end I had to simply applaud that audacity, as it created an ending that was both satisfying in the outcome for Minto, and comforting to the reader to learn that all Minto had experienced was truly self-inflicted.”

Leave a Reply

