Guest Blog: Edith O’ Deer

Posted: November 14, 2012 in Guest Blogs, TWB Press Author AJ Kirby

I’m delighted to be joined today by Edith O’Deer. Edith is a fellow writer from the TWB Press stable, and her new story The Dollhouse, has been published this week.  To celebrate, Edith has taken a few moments out of her busy schedule to talk to Paintthistownred about her love of genre writing – and in particular ghost stories – and also about how, amazingly, this Estonian author came to write in English, which is her second language.

HelleEdith:

“My interest in writing first showed signs of life when I was still very young and I wrote my first story when I was ten. Naturally, the horrific ghost story I was aiming for, turned out to be an entertaining comedy and the interest faded away. Tried again during my teen years, and finished a few stories, but again didn’t stick with it.

A few years ago I felt the familiar rush of my wild imagination, and since English is my second language that I’ve learned basically from Hollywood movies, the idea of writing in English that popped into my head sounded appealing enough and I decided to give it a try. Of course, it proved to be a lot more difficult than I first anticipated, and I spent a lot of time going through online dictionaries, working on the layout of words and keeping myself up-do-date with expressions. That adds a lot work to the writing process, but I think the result is worth it. Plus, it’s educational.

The Dollhouse was the third story I wrote in English, and after that I again took a short break, but this time it was because of the lack of time and I cradled the hope of continuing writing soon, since the challenge took the writing process to a whole new level and I enjoyed it so much more. Now I try to find time for it when ever I can with the ideas coming to life before my eyes faster than I can type.

The idea for The Dollhouse started with a blank page and only a vague vision in my head of the house and the people in front of it. The story evolved as I wrote it, and as it grew on the pages, it intrigued me so that I just couldn’t put the pen down. You know the feeling of when you’re reading a good book and you just can’t close it even though it’s 3 in the morning and you have to get up early, you keep reading to know what happens next? That’s how it was for me with The Dollhouse.

But the story wasn’t finished with the last word written. After I submitted it to TWB Press, the hard work was just beginning and I relied heavily on Terry Wright who helped me with the language barrier and turning the stiff manuscript into a smooth story you can see today.”

Edith O’Deer is 28 years old and has lived most of her life in a small village by the sea near Tallinn in Estonia. She moved inland to Viljandi in the summer of 2004. She is married to Ain, and has a daughter named Kärt Evi, who loves to spend her time chasing their cat and dog or scaring the fish.

Edith likes reading, especially short horror stories, and the utter lack of them in Estonia is what inspired her to write them. She learned English thanks to the great number of movies Hollywood produces, and she loves to watch them. But her great love is the sea, and she misses on the inlands, but plans to move back again next to it one day.

Dollhouse coverEdith’s story, The Dollhouse, is being published by TWB Press, and is released today from Amazon, and all good online stores!

The Dollhouse – Anabella and Brom’s marriage is as broken down as the old house they’ve just purchased, a fixer-upper they hope will give them a common purpose and strengthen their bond. But the house comes with more than weeping wallpaper and an overgrown garden. It comes with a ghost story that will drive a wedge between them and bring death knocking on their door.

Comments
  1. Marilyn Baron says:

    Andy,
    I’m so glad you have Edith on your blog today. As you know I am also a fellow TWB Press author and I enjoyed reading about her history and her writing. Good luck with the new book. It sounds great.

    Marilyn Baron

  2. Thanks Marilyn. I was fascinated to read Edith’s story. Comes highly recommended. I’ve already reviewed it on Amazon

Leave a Reply

