Flipping Fantastic ‘Fergie’s Finest’ Reviews Continue to Flow In

Posted: May 25, 2013 in Fergie's Finest, Other Writing by AJ Kirby

Front and Back Cover Sneak PreviewExcellent reviews of ‘Fergie’s Finest’ continue to be posted on Amazon. Here’s a selection:

Michael Hopkins posted a 5-star review entitled ‘What a Bargain!’ and here’s what he says:

“I bought this book on recommendation from a friend. I particularly enjoyed reading about the merits of the players from Fergies early years at the club and would be interested in reading a digest of players from this era, I mean I don’t think I could bring myself to read a full biography of Russel Beardsmore, Neil Webb et al but a few stories on some of the more interesting characters would be a good read, especially if they are as well researched and written as Fergie’s Finest.

But I digress, I definitely recommend this to any body interested in football in general and Manchester United in particular. Buy it now!! Stop reading this and buy it!!!”

And on the Amazon US Site, Marilyn Baron also posted a 5-star review, entitled: ‘Fergie’s Finest: Exploring the Mystique of a Legend‘. Here’s what she said:

The best sports writing transcends its ‘genre’ and becomes literature in its own right. Here in America, we have a tradition of excellent sports writing, particularly in baseball.

“When I first heard the title of this book, “Fergie’s Finest,” I wondered if it was about Fergie, the Singer or Fergie, the Duchess of York, until I discovered it was about Sir Alex Ferguson, the greatest football manager of all time. But I picked it up with some degree of interest as I have friends in the UK who love to talk about soccer, and especially Manchester United. My knowledge about sports is limited, but I’ve read most of Andrew Kirby’s fiction and I’m a big fan. As a matter of fact, in my book, Andrew Kirby is a literary rock star. So I thought I’d give it a try. And I have to admit the book blew me away. Though some sections were for the more knowledgeable football fan, I found most of the book to be an engaging read. It was like a guide book to one of the most famous sports teams in the world, and it explained the reasons why certain players, certain names, have entered folklore. It was clearly excellently researched, passionately written, and was at times amusing (particularly in the explanations of the fan songs). It explored the history and culture of this great institution from a variety of angles – and not always the expected ones. There were great quotes from the film director Ken Loach, and from authors and poets alike. I enjoyed comments from ex-Manchester United players and from supporters throughout the world and the writer’s description of the “Where were you when?” phenomenon surrounding Fergie’s recent retirement announcement. But it was the point of view of the author I particularly enjoyed. Andrew J Kirby writes in a very accessible way, but at times, when he describes a famous goal, or why fans love a certain player, it becomes poetry.

When you support a sports team, their history intertwines with your history, and in this book, Kirby approaches the aspect of why sports matter so much to people very well. In my book, Fergie’s finest is writing at its finest.”

4-starred reviews in the UK next. Umbumbraye in his review entitled ‘A Great Man’ writes:

“Sir Alex Ferguson has had an amazing career and this ebook looks at some the best players he has coached over the years. I can see Andrew Kirby’s point when he says that often you have to discount certain players for individual positions because they were often great in partnership with other players or due to the strong team at the time, but there were a couple of instances where I would have picked the runner up instead of his final choice (I won’t spoil it by saying who!). Overall this is a great tribute to a great man.”

And Chubbagrubb, in his review states: “Fergie’s Finest picks Fergie’s all time greatest 11 by choosing the best player for each position. Some decisions are obvious and have little or no competition but other decisions are a lot harder to make. He backs up his choices with match analyses and interviews, but often it seems like there is hardly anything in it. So many great players have played at Old Trafford under Fergie’s reign that it is nearly impossible to whittle it down to the finalists. So sad to see such a fantastic manager leave.”

 

Leave a Reply

