‘My First United Game’. My Article posted on the Stretty News blogsite

Posted: July 1, 2013 in Fergie's Finest, Other Writing by AJ Kirby

jesperI’ve penned a piece about my first ever United game (at the tender age of seven) on the Stretty News United blogsite here: http://strettynews.com/author-of-fergies-finest-my-first-united-game/

And here’s an excerpt:

“Until I was about seven, football didn’t really feature in my list of priorities. (Doubtless this state of affairs delighted my United-obsessed Dad.) If that flag you always used to see at Old Trafford used to read ‘United, Kids, Wife – In That Order’, when I was a kid – at the risk of this sounding like a piece of Peter Kay nostalgia-propaganda – my priorities were probably ‘Star Wars, The A-Team, The Dukes of Hazard’. Sure I collected football stickers – obsessively too – but I also collected Return of the Jedi stickers and Back to the Future stickers.

My first appearance at Old Trafford changed all that. It was 18th January 1986. The Pet Shop Boys were number one in the charts with West End Girls and the 24th Space Shuttle, Mission-Columbia 7 was making its return trip to Earth. Wayne Rooney was still in nappies (he was three months old, so he had an excuse then).”

And here’s how you can get your hands on more of my football writing: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fergies-Finest-Fergusons-First-ebook/dp/B00CPPNTJ2

Leave a Reply

