World Cup Focus

Posted: July 9, 2014 in Pride of All Europe, Sportswriting

panini-america-2014-fifa-world-cup-brazil-sticker-teaser-20Although a good deal of what I’ve predicted for this World Cup in Brazil has been complete and utter b@*&ocks I did get the Suarez taking leave of his senses part bang on and I also got Germany reaching the final CORRECT.

Tonight we find out whether the other half of that predo – Argentina – pays off. Mind you, as I have recently been commissioned to write a biography of Louis van Gaal, the manager of the Dutch side who face Argentina in the other semi-final, I’m divided. If Van Gaal becomes a World Cup winning manager that’ll be great for the release of the book, and for the start of his Manchester United career.

I just hope football is the winner. (Actually I just hope football books – like my new one, ‘The Pride of all Europe’ – are the winners).

Anyway, a couple of other World Cup football-related things I’ve worked on.

Here is my ‘Hero’ Team of the Tournamant

    Neuer (Germany)

Lahm (Germany)           Hummels (Germany)                    Blind (Holland) 

Muller (Germany); Vidal (Chile); Kroos (Germany); Di Maria (Argentina)

James Rodriguez (Colombia); Messi (Argentina);   Robben (Holland)

Coach: Louis van Gaal

 

Here are my Villains

Cassilas (Spain)

Pereira (Uruguay); Pepe (Portugal); Luiz (Brazil); Baines (England)

Fernandinho (Brazil)

Gerrard (England)               Henderson (England)

Hulk (Brazil)

Suarez (Uruguay); Fred (Brazil)

Coach: Roy Hodgson, or Fabio Capello

Leave a Reply

