Bite-Size Review of Guy Mankowski’s ‘How I Left the National Grid’

Posted: September 12, 2014 in Coming Soon, Writing Talk

untitledThough I’ve hung up my reviewers’ hat for the time being, I couldn’t resist it when I was offered the new Guy Mankowski book to read and review.  Seeing as though I’m such a fan of Guy’s previous work (‘Letters from Yelena’ and ‘The Intimates’ – both Legend Press) I couldn’t refuse. And I’m pleased to say ‘How I Left  the National Grid’ was more than I could have hoped for… Great stuff

So here’s my bite-size review:

‘This book is the epitome of cool. A cross between Twenty Four Hour Party people and Tom Perrotta’s The Leftovers, written by Julian Barnes. It contains a narrative as spiky as a punk set, a whole symphony of ideas composed by Mankowski within a few subtle bars of text. A brilliantly written literary treat.’

About Guy Mankowski

Guy Mankowski was raised on the Isle of Wight, before being taught by monks at Ampleforth College, York. He formed a Dickensian pop band called Alba Nova, and released an EP on Comfort Records. After that he trained as a psychologist at The Royal Hospital for Neuro-disability in London. His debut novel, The Intimates, was chosen as a ‘Must Read’ title by New Writing North’s Read Regional campaign. His second, Letters from Yelena, won an Arts Council Literature Prize. He travelled to Russia to research it in the world of Russian ballet, and was one of the first English people given access to the world-famous Vaganova Academy. An extract from the book was used in GCSE training material by Osiris Educational in 2014. You can follow him on Twitter @Gmankow.

Buy his books here.

Leave a Reply

