Guest Blog: Marilyn Baron, Author of ‘Stones’

Posted: October 3, 2014 in Guest Blogs, TWB Press Author AJ Kirby

STONES: HUMOROUS COMING-OF-MIDDLE AGE FICTION
By Marilyn Baron
Stones_w8830_750 (2)New Adult fiction seems to be all the rage these days. Well, I’m starting a trend of my own—Old Adult Fiction. Or more accurately, Coming-of-Middle-Age-Fiction. My new novel, Stones, features women of a certain age. Before being published by The Wild Rose Press, the manuscript, which finaled in the Georgia Romance Writers Unpublished Maggie Award for Excellence, was called The Colonoscopy Club. So you have an idea of what age I’m talking about.
Books & Bling
If you like books and you like bling, you’ll love Stones.

Here’s the blurb:

When Julie Paver’s husband Matt moves his business to Atlanta, she is forced to leave behind her thriving jewelry boutique, Stones. The move threatens their twenty-five year marriage, because now if Matt isn’t out of town negotiating a merger, he’s spending late hours on overseas phone calls with his sexy-sounding second-in-command.

Feeling neglected and unloved, Julie seeks closure by reconnecting with her first love, Manny, when he pursues her with his Internet innuendos. Manny is unaware he is the father of Julie’s son, and Julie contemplates revealing the secret to him on the eve of their son’s wedding. But would such a walk down memory lane be worth the cost?

Julie and Manny finally meet at her oceanfront condo—in the midst of a hurricane—and elements collide to create the perfect storm in this coming-of-middle-age crisis.

Julie has issues. Even her issues have issues. And I use humor to help her cope with those issues.

1. She’s just turned 50 and she’s depressed; And her vet says her dog has also lost its purpose in life.
2. She’s convinced her husband is cheating on her.
3. She faces an empty nest.
4. Her daughter is dating a boy named Barnyard.
5. She’s planning her son’s wedding.
6. And as she says, “My ass is leaving an imprint on the sofa the size of Savannah.”

Naturally Julie is stressed out. All she’s looking for is closure and she can’t seem to find it.

In Julie’s words: “At my age, closure is an extremely important concept. Because—let’s face it—I’m running out of time here.”

In fact, in Stones, readers are introduced to the concept of closure in the very first paragraph.

“Thank God for LINT. It’s the one area in my life where I’ve been able to achieve closure. I can wash a load of towels, toss them into the dryer, fold them, and, after opening the lint filter, peel back a glorious, thick, colorful strip of lint, admire it, and throw it into the wastebasket. Then I can cross that task off my to-do list. Now, THAT is closure! And, by the way, I have a new dryer that gives really good lint.”

An Excerpt:
To go or not to go to Palm Coast is no longer the question. The question is what will I do once I get there? Will I really have the nerve to reconnect, or as my daughter Natalie likes to say, “hook up,” again with Manny Gellar? How will I feel tomorrow when I see him alone for the first time after twenty-five years? Will I finally reveal what I feel compelled—no, what
I’m busting a gut—to tell him? That he has a beautiful son, that our son Josh is getting married in just three months? I’m probably rationalizing, but I think he finally has a right to know.

If I could, I’d fix what is wrong with my marriage and put it back the way it was before, as easily as Ricardo fixed my washing machine. Before Matt yanked me out of Miami by my roots as if I were a noxious weed he was tossing out of a flower garden and carelessly transplanted us to Atlanta.

Before we moved a state away from my family and my best friend and a business I’d worked a lifetime to create. Before Matt sold his freight-expediting business to a German conglomerate for mega-millions and agreed to run the company for them from Atlanta for the next two years, barely consulting me. Before the German occupation, or rather before he became preoccupied
with his sexy-sounding German second-in-command, Gretchen. Before he stopped sleeping with me in the biblical sense. Before I turned fifty.

All I really want is closure. I’m convinced that meeting Manny Gellar again is the only way I will ever come full circle and reconnect with my life.

There’s plenty of hot romance in Stones when the novel flashes back to the main character’s college years. Scenes I never wanted my mother to read, but she read them anyway and wondered, “How do you know about all that stuff?” There are even some chapters set in London and in Florence, Italy, where I attended college for six months.
To read more about Marilyn’s books and stories, please visit her Web site at http://www.marilynbaron.com/
To get a copy of Stones, click:
Amazon.co.uk (Kindle and Print)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Stones-Marilyn-Baron-ebook/dp/B00NF12CVG/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_kin?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1411999122&sr=1-1&keywords=stones+marilyn+baron
Amazon (Kindle and Print):
http://www.amazon.com/Stones-Marilyn-Baron-ebook/dp/B00NF12CVG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1411999049&sr=1-1&keywords=stones+marilyn+baron
The Wild Rose Press (Stones and other books by Marilyn Baron)
http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=244_210&products_id=5817

 

marilyn

Marilyn Baron is a public relations consultant in Atlanta, Georgia, and the author of humorous women’s fiction, historical romantic thrillers, a psychic suspense series, supernatural short stories and a musical. She has won or finaled in writing awards for Single Title, Suspense Romance, Paranormal/Fantasy Romance and Fiction with Strong Romantic Elements.

Marilyn has published six books with The Wild Rose Press (TWRP)

http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=advanced_search_result&search_in_description=1&keyword=marilyn%20baron&inc_subcat=0&sort=20a&page=1. She is under contract for a seventh book, The Widows’ Gallery, part of the new Lobster Cove series with TWRP. She has published four humorous paranormal short stories with TWB Press http://www.twbpress.com/authormarilynbaron.html.

To find out more about Marilyn’s books, stories and upcoming releases, visit her Web site at www.marilynbaron.com and her blog at www.petitfoursandhottamales.com.

Find her on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Marilyn-Baron/286807714666748 and follow her on Twitter at https://twitter.com/MarilynBaron.

Comments
  1. Thanks for featuring Stones on your blog.

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    This sounds like a great book! I’ve been writing about older characters lately, too. I’ll have to check this out! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Alicia Dean says:

    Enjoyed the post. I love that she flashes back to college years. I bet you didn’t want your mother to read those. 🙂 Best of luck!

    • marilynbaron says:

      Alicia, thank you for commenting. I did not want my mother to read this book but she did. I enjoyed writing about Florence, Italy. I’m using Florence in my next book for the Wild Rose Press, “The Widows’ Gallery.” I’m glad you liked the post.

  4. Diane Burton says:

    Love the term Old Adult Fiction. Although I don’t consider 50 old. LOL I really enjoyed Stones. It speaks to many issues women have to deal with. Best wishes.

  5. piperhuguley says:

    A very nice feature. Stones presents a great, enlivening read and I look forward to reading it. I love the discussion about laundry dryer lint. It is so insightful and so true!

    • Piper, thanks for commenting. I hope you enjoy the book. I love dryer lint because it represents closure. You’ve finished a load of wash and that project, at least, is over.

  6. sandra Elzie says:

    Hi Marilyn,
    I recently got Stones and I’m trying to save it for a cruise next month. I can’t wait to read your book…you write about how I feel as a “middle-aged” woman…even the rear leaving an imprint the size of Savannah. lol

    • Sandy, I know what you mean about saving books you want to read for a trip when you can really enjoy them. I am saving Daniel SIlva’s new book for my trip to Florida. I hope you enjoy Stones. I think coming-of-middle-age women should enjoy the challenges it presents and find a lot of humor in it, which is really my goal, to make people laugh.

  7. Thanks all for stopping by and leaving your thoughtful comments. Marilyn’s guest blogs always draw the best responses of any features on my blog, and I’m delighted to host her as usual, and wish her the best of luck with ‘Stones’.

  8. maxinedavis1 says:

    Marilyn, congratulations being freatured. Stones soundsd wonderful. Have not read it YET, but, of course, will. I do enjoy your writing!–Maxine

Leave a Reply

