Halloween Countdown: 11 Days to Go…

Posted: October 20, 2015 in AJ Kirby Short Fiction, Events, Writing Talk

nostradamus-moonToday’s offering on the Halloween countdown is a FREE READ of my 2015 horror short ‘The Tennessee Nostradamus’, published by five59 literary website. You can read the story here.

And here’s an excerpt:

“Name’s William Hendrix n I’m an alcoholic.

Worse: recently, I’ve cupped my ear to the grapevine, heard I’ve gone insane. On account of I’m now a widower. ‘Magine that; going ‘bout your day, not botherin’ anysucker n then you get to hearin’ you mad. Might feel steady as a old tree, but when these folk say you touched, that’s you. Folk at Big Al’s have spoke, like it God’s stone word.

I cain’t help thinking about how they tret that old stray used to wander down Boardwalk, how one day they said they saw foam round his whiskery maw. Burned him whimperin’, y’all know.”

Leave a Reply

