Halloween Countdown: 9 Days to Go…

Posted: October 22, 2015 in Events, Writing Talk

Today on my Halloween countdown I thought I’d bring you a few examples and recommendations of horror/ dark fiction by other authors which I’ve reviewed for the New York Journal of Books and The Short Review.

  • Here’s my take on Ron Malfi’s Floating Staircase:
    “Floating Staircase deserves to stand alongside a Stephen King or a Dean Koontz—at their best. . . . [it is] a mature horror yarn, but, deep down, it is also an exploration of obsessions, and in particular the obsession it takes to be a writer.”

 

  • Here’s my reckoning on Joyce Carol Oates’ The Accursed:
    “. . . compulsive and engaging, . . . crackles with energy and wit . . .”

 

  • Here’s my insight on Chase Novak’s Breed:

    “. . . daring . . . a story of the Promethean folly of human beings. . . . visceral . . . grueling . . .”

    Chase Novak’s newly born Breed is not cute.

  • Here’s me on Joe Hill’s NOS4A2:
    “. . . [a] mean machine of a novel . . . an instant classic.”

 

  • Here’s my review of Benjamin Percy’s Red Moon

    “. . . that rarest of creatures: an intelligent and original lycanthrope novel. Perhaps the great werewolf novel.”

    “. . . the thinking person’s Twilight.”

Leave a Reply

