Archive for the ‘Pride of All Europe’ Category

rugby league2

One from the archives for my Grandad, this, who loves rugby league (though isn’t particularly fond of either Bradford or St. Helens, being a Wigan fan)…

rugby league

If you’re interested in my more recent sportswriting – perhaps for a Christmas present for one of your nearest or dearest – then here’s the links to my quartet of Manchester United books: Fergie’s Finest: Sir Alex Ferguson’s Greatest Manchester United x11The Pride of All Europe: Manchester United’s Greatest Seasons in the European Cup; Louis van Gaal: Dutch Courage; Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning.

Advertisements

tennis2

Here’s another one from the archives, covering yet another memorable sporting event from 2001…

tennis

If you’re interested in my more recent sportswriting – perhaps for a Christmas present for one of your nearest or dearest – then here’s the links to my quartet of Manchester United books: Fergie’s Finest: Sir Alex Ferguson’s Greatest Manchester United x11The Pride of All Europe: Manchester United’s Greatest Seasons in the European Cup; Louis van Gaal: Dutch Courage; Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning.

grand national 2

But my sportswriting for Radio Five Live wasn’t just limited to football. I also enthusiastically covered other sports, including, in this case, the 2001 Grand National. I just so happened to have backed the winning horse (a massive outsider) in this case, which probably explains some of that enthusiasm…

grand national

If you’re interested in my more recent sportswriting – perhaps for a Christmas present for one of your nearest or dearest – then here’s the links to my quartet of Manchester United books: Fergie’s Finest: Sir Alex Ferguson’s Greatest Manchester United x11The Pride of All Europe: Manchester United’s Greatest Seasons in the European Cup; Louis van Gaal: Dutch Courage; Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning.

dirty leeds

If you read yesterday’s flash piece on a Leeds United Champions League tie in the early noughties, you might be hungry to read a more in-depth piece on the same game. So here goes. This is the piece which Radio Five Live accepted for their site:

Leeds Story2

If you’re interested in my more recent sportswriting – perhaps for a Christmas present for one of your nearest or dearest – then here’s the links to my quartet of Manchester United books: Fergie’s Finest: Sir Alex Ferguson’s Greatest Manchester United x11The Pride of All Europe: Manchester United’s Greatest Seasons in the European Cup; Louis van Gaal: Dutch Courage; Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning.

I’m having a bit of a clear-out at home and I stumbled across some early examples of my sportswriting. Over the next few days I’ll be looking back at these stories (which were used on the Radio Five Live website, and covered a wide range of different sports).

I find it unbelievable now (given my Manchester United allegiances and the fact I’ve written FOUR books about the club) that this early effort was about their dread rivals from across the Pennines, Leeds United. I suppose I was trying to show Radio Five Live that my efforts could be unbiased…

Anyway, here goes:

Leeds Story

I also wrote a more detailed match-report which I’ll feature later in this series.

If you’re interested in my more recent sportswriting – perhaps for a Christmas present for one of your nearest or dearest – then here’s the links to my quartet of Manchester United books: Fergie’s Finest: Sir Alex Ferguson’s Greatest Manchester United x11The Pride of All Europe: Manchester United’s Greatest Seasons in the European Cup; Louis van Gaal: Dutch Courage; Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning.

Buy the book now from here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jose-Mourinho-Winning-appointment-Manchester/dp/1537012363/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

It would be fair to say that in the wake of Louis van Gaal’s sacking as manager of Manchester United my hopes for continued sales of the book weren’t particularly high. After all, it’s not as though the Dutchman has walked into another high-profile job, is it? I thought I had a dead duckie on my hands, and therefore it’s been very pleasing that the book is still being recognised as relevant and it is still garnering very favourable reviews. This one, below, came in recently:

review

Dutch Courage, then, continues to provide good reading matter for fans of Ajax, Barcelona, AZ Alkmaar, and Bayern Munich, as well as Manchester United supporters, and it’s still available from here. And you can read more about the book by visiting its dedicated page on this site here.