Archive for the ‘Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning’ Category

Buy the book now from here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jose-Mourinho-Winning-appointment-Manchester/dp/1537012363/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Advertisements

Jose Mourinho CoverMy Endeavour Press sports publication, Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning, is available for just 99p on Amazon at the moment (ebook only). So go on, get your laughing gear around it here.

Here’s what the reviewers have said: “gives a good insight into Jose Mourinho and how he has become one of the most successful and talked about managers currently in the game.” Amazon Reviewer

“What a wonderful book! The most thoroughly researched, detailed, forensic and comprehensive analysis I have read about Jose Mourinho’s managerial career and how Kirby anticipates he will be welcomed and perform on the stage that awaits him at Old Trafford. Well argued with much use of original sources and fresh and engaging, this is essential reading for all students of management as well as Manchester United fans wondering that their club has let them in for.” Amazon Reviewer

It would be fair to say that in the wake of Louis van Gaal’s sacking as manager of Manchester United my hopes for continued sales of the book weren’t particularly high. After all, it’s not as though the Dutchman has walked into another high-profile job, is it? I thought I had a dead duckie on my hands, and therefore it’s been very pleasing that the book is still being recognised as relevant and it is still garnering very favourable reviews. This one, below, came in recently:

review

Dutch Courage, then, continues to provide good reading matter for fans of Ajax, Barcelona, AZ Alkmaar, and Bayern Munich, as well as Manchester United supporters, and it’s still available from here. And you can read more about the book by visiting its dedicated page on this site here.

 

It’s about time I featured some of my sportswriting, ain’t it? Promoting my football books (Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning, Louis van Gaal: Dutch Courage, The Pride of All Europe, and Fergie’s Finest) and, well, just because I love writing about Manchester United, I appeared in the excellent the Republik of Mancunia fanzine, talking about my favourite recent United memories. And so, behind door number eight is a link to my story about Robin van Persie’s volley against Aston Villa…: http://therepublikofmancunia.com/remember-when-van-persie-scored-that-volley-against-villa/

rom banner

Also worth reading is the Evra one: http://therepublikofmancunia.com/remember-when-evra-scored-a-belter-against-bayern/

Jose Mourinho CoverJose Mourinho’s been in the sports news quite a bit this week following his despicable touchline antics over the past few weeks. A run of petulant behaviour culminated in the awful crime of kicking a water bottle on Sunday… I mean, imagine if I went into work and got frustrated at something and chucked a hammer… That’s perspective for you folks.

For another perspective on Mourinho, the man, the myth, why not give my book Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning a try for Christmas. Maybe by the time you gift it, United will have won a game, otherwise I’m going to have to seriously think about changing the title to The Art of Drawing…

Anyway, a new Amazon review came in last week from a Net Galley reviewer named Neil Clarke, who writes of it: “This gives a good insight into Jose Mourinho and how he has become one of the most successful and talked about managers currently in the game.”

I’m delighted to bring you news of a first 5-star review for Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning on Amazon. This brilliant write-up comes courtesy of Greville Waterman:

Amazon Review

The book continues to ride high in the Amazon charts – the paperback is in the top 20 chart for books on the Premier League and the ebook has been charting highly in the list for books on Chelsea (!?!).

Take a look here.

After the ebook release of my new football book Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning yesterday – which you can buy from here – I am delighted to announce that the paperback has now been published today! Just in time for tonight’s game at Old Trafford. You can buy the paperback from here.

aMAZON Paperback screenprint