Archive for the ‘Fergie’s Finest’ Category

Buy the book now from here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jose-Mourinho-Winning-appointment-Manchester/dp/1537012363/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Advertisements

It would be fair to say that in the wake of Louis van Gaal’s sacking as manager of Manchester United my hopes for continued sales of the book weren’t particularly high. After all, it’s not as though the Dutchman has walked into another high-profile job, is it? I thought I had a dead duckie on my hands, and therefore it’s been very pleasing that the book is still being recognised as relevant and it is still garnering very favourable reviews. This one, below, came in recently:

review

Dutch Courage, then, continues to provide good reading matter for fans of Ajax, Barcelona, AZ Alkmaar, and Bayern Munich, as well as Manchester United supporters, and it’s still available from here. And you can read more about the book by visiting its dedicated page on this site here.

 

It’s about time I featured some of my sportswriting, ain’t it? Promoting my football books (Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning, Louis van Gaal: Dutch Courage, The Pride of All Europe, and Fergie’s Finest) and, well, just because I love writing about Manchester United, I appeared in the excellent the Republik of Mancunia fanzine, talking about my favourite recent United memories. And so, behind door number eight is a link to my story about Robin van Persie’s volley against Aston Villa…: http://therepublikofmancunia.com/remember-when-van-persie-scored-that-volley-against-villa/

rom banner

Also worth reading is the Evra one: http://therepublikofmancunia.com/remember-when-evra-scored-a-belter-against-bayern/

Jose Mourinho CoverJose Mourinho’s been in the sports news quite a bit this week following his despicable touchline antics over the past few weeks. A run of petulant behaviour culminated in the awful crime of kicking a water bottle on Sunday… I mean, imagine if I went into work and got frustrated at something and chucked a hammer… That’s perspective for you folks.

For another perspective on Mourinho, the man, the myth, why not give my book Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning a try for Christmas. Maybe by the time you gift it, United will have won a game, otherwise I’m going to have to seriously think about changing the title to The Art of Drawing…

Anyway, a new Amazon review came in last week from a Net Galley reviewer named Neil Clarke, who writes of it: “This gives a good insight into Jose Mourinho and how he has become one of the most successful and talked about managers currently in the game.”

I’m delighted to bring you news of a first 5-star review for Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning on Amazon. This brilliant write-up comes courtesy of Greville Waterman:

Amazon Review

The book continues to ride high in the Amazon charts – the paperback is in the top 20 chart for books on the Premier League and the ebook has been charting highly in the list for books on Chelsea (!?!).

Take a look here.

After the ebook release of my new football book Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning yesterday – which you can buy from here – I am delighted to announce that the paperback has now been published today! Just in time for tonight’s game at Old Trafford. You can buy the paperback from here.

aMAZON Paperback screenprint

Jose Mourinho CoverOUT NOW! My new football book, Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning. 

Published by Endeavour Press. And available RIGHT NOW as an ebook.

Expected pulication date for the paperback version: late August 2016.

Read the dedicated page for the book on this website here.

Or visit the official Facebook page for the book here.

Jose-Mourinho-United-mainSYNOPSIS

JOSE MOURINHO: THE ART OF WINNING

WHAT THE APPOINTMENT OF JOSE MOURINHO SAYS ABOUT MANCHESTER UNITED AND THE PREMIER LEAGUE

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo apart, the biggest, most marketable stars in world football today are the managers. The 2016-17 edition of the FA Premier League is being billed as the most exciting yet, and that’s not because of the influx of star players after the European Championships in France. Though some eye-catching names have joined the league, none have the cache of a Messi or a Ronaldo. None have the standing of a Jose Mourinho or a Pep Guardiola either. And so it is on the manager’s shoulders that the responsibility for delivering the customary Premier League spectacle falls. They are the galacticos.

With his burgeoning personal trophy cabinet, his box-office appeal, and most specifically his drama, Jose Mourinho is the biggest of the lot.

In 2016, he became manager of Manchester United, arguably the biggest club in Britain – certainly the one with the largest trophy haul, world-wide appeal, and romance.

Will it be “a match made in heaven or a marriage of convenience”, asked Hitesh Ratna in his editorial to the August 2016 issue of FourFourTwo magazine “as two giants look to restore their reputations. Will it all end happily ever after?”

Incorporating interviews with fans (of United, and of Mourinho’s former clubs), players (past and present), commentators and journalists, The Art of Winning endeavours to determine what effect the Jose Mourinho show will have on Manchester United as a football club and the Premier League as a whole by tackling eight key questions including the following:

When Manchester United signed Jose Mourinho as manager, Ed Woodward described him as: “quite simply the best manager in the game today”. Is Mourinho the best manager in the game?

“Football is a human science and not a sports science.” What is the management approach of Jose Mourinho?

“A United manager wouldn’t do that.” – Sir Bobby Charlton. Can Manchester United tolerate the dark side of Jose Mourinho?

“The cult of celebrity means managers are now arguably more important than playing-staff.” Paul Wilson, The Guardian. What is the role of the modern day Premier League manager and how has this changed over the years?

And:

“Once a Blue, always a Red?”

Can a manager who is so recognisably a Blue become a Red

 

ALSO BY THIS AUTHOR

Fergie’s Finest: Sir Alex Ferguson’s First x11 (Endeavour Press, May 2013)

The Pride of All Europe: Manchester United’s Greatest Seasons in the European Cup (Endeavour Press, June 2014)

Louis van Gaal: Dutch Courage (Endeavour Press, August 2015)

 

PRAISE FOR FERGIE’S FINEST

A must read for any red. Scott the Red, Editor: Republik of Mancunia United Blog

The perfect gift for the red devil in your life! Sam Sharp, Manchester United fan

 Buy it now! Michael Hopkins, Manchester United fan

PRAISE FOR THE PRIDE OF ALL EUROPE

 A very enjoyable trip down memory lane. Goodreads Reviewer

 The book succeeds in encapsulating the hopes, dreams, disappointments and joys of so many different eras. Manchester United fan review on Amazon

 

PRAISE FOR DUTCH COURAGE

Great research and insight make this a supreme football biography. Cool Reviews

 Excellent insight into this complex character. Nigel Craig, Amazon Reviewer