Archive for the ‘Reviews of AJ Kirby’s Work’ Category

Buy the book now from here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jose-Mourinho-Winning-appointment-Manchester/dp/1537012363/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Advertisements

To Amazon, where ‘Mr. L’ has submitted a brilliant 5-star review of The Lost Boys of Prometheus City in which he draws comparisons between my writing style and that of Hunter S. Thompson and Jack Kerouac. Indeed!

You can buy the book here.

And here’s the review:

Four-star, on Amazon:

lbopc-review

 

The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about… Thankfully, the conversation about The Lost Boys of Prometheus City has started in earnest on social media, following some glowing early reviews. Here’s what people are saying about the book on Twitter:

lostboys

Remember, the book’s available to purchase RIGHT NOW from here.

Lost Boys Cover Frontplate AJKAl Devey, an Amazon Reader and the brains behind the Home Defence UK blog-site, has provided the first review of The Lost Boys of Prometheus City. I’ve provided a few highlights below:
After “a bravura first chapter” , the “prose always has a certain energy, a spontaneity, and, at its best, a tendency to barrel along in a way that’s thoroughly engrossing.”
“We meet Neal as an over-privileged hedonist within his three-man gang of Northern England Gordon Gekkos, but their story quickly becomes tense then rapidly unspools from there, with Kirby telling his tale in the first person as he draws us into the fraught, dissatisfied, changeable mental landscape of his easily led protagonist. An atmosphere of regret, amorality and emptiness pervades this fast-paced thriller with its tumbling, freewheeling sentences, full of stream of consciousness left-turns, pop culture references from the time and bracketed asides.”

“The other great character evoked here is the city of Leeds itself, caught in a boom that will prove to be built on sand, and with the penthouse futureplexes of these masters of the universe no more than a stone’s throw from degradation, poverty, filth and the tightening grip of crime networks who often overreach themselves. Perhaps Kirby too, has been guilty of aiming too big in the past, most notably with his controversial Not The Booker nominated ‘Paint This Town Red’ a few years back, but TLBoPC is a very different work, being a novel that is full of real people, not over-plotted, and has something relevant to say about our times. You don’t have to be familiar with that Yorkshire city in which it’s set to enjoy this compelling, fast-read odyssey across its landscape, but if you do know Leeds inside-out the way this author does, that can only add to your reading enjoyment. Recommended.”

The book is available to purchase from here.
lbopbc

It would be fair to say that in the wake of Louis van Gaal’s sacking as manager of Manchester United my hopes for continued sales of the book weren’t particularly high. After all, it’s not as though the Dutchman has walked into another high-profile job, is it? I thought I had a dead duckie on my hands, and therefore it’s been very pleasing that the book is still being recognised as relevant and it is still garnering very favourable reviews. This one, below, came in recently:

review

Dutch Courage, then, continues to provide good reading matter for fans of Ajax, Barcelona, AZ Alkmaar, and Bayern Munich, as well as Manchester United supporters, and it’s still available from here. And you can read more about the book by visiting its dedicated page on this site here.

 

Jose Mourinho CoverJose Mourinho’s been in the sports news quite a bit this week following his despicable touchline antics over the past few weeks. A run of petulant behaviour culminated in the awful crime of kicking a water bottle on Sunday… I mean, imagine if I went into work and got frustrated at something and chucked a hammer… That’s perspective for you folks.

For another perspective on Mourinho, the man, the myth, why not give my book Jose Mourinho: The Art of Winning a try for Christmas. Maybe by the time you gift it, United will have won a game, otherwise I’m going to have to seriously think about changing the title to The Art of Drawing…

Anyway, a new Amazon review came in last week from a Net Galley reviewer named Neil Clarke, who writes of it: “This gives a good insight into Jose Mourinho and how he has become one of the most successful and talked about managers currently in the game.”